Game Programming Resources, Tutorials, & Guides for Developers

Game Programming Resources

Game Programming Resources, Tutorials, Tips, and Guides for Unity Game Developers and Unreal game engine

 

Rodrigo Monteiro, who has been making games for twenty years now, started a thread on Twitter for sharing his favorite game programming resources. I then collected those and a few responses and indexed them into a Twitter moment here:

Here’s what they were:

Game Networking: https://gafferongames.com/categories/game-networking/

Development and Deployment of Multiplayer Online Games by IT Hare / No Bugs’ Hare is a multiplayer game programming resource split into nine volumes; the first of which is available here on Amazon.

Game Development Book Deployment Multiplayer Online Games Networking

Linear Algebra:

Geometry – Separating Axis Theorem (for collision detection): http://www.metanetsoftware.com/technique/tutorialA.html

How to implement 2D platformer games: http://higherorderfun.com/blog/2012/05/20/the-guide-to-implementing-2d-platformers/

Pathfinding: https://www.redblobgames.com/pathfinding/a-star/introduction.html

OpenGL Tutorial: https://learnopengl.com/

Audio Programming: https://jackschaedler.github.io/circles-sines-signals/index.html

OpenAL Effects Extension Guide (for game audio): http://kcat.strangesoft.net/misc-downloads/Effects%20Extension%20Guide.pdf

Entity Component Systems game development programming scripting chart
Entity Component Systems provide an alternative to object-oriented programming.

Entity Systems are the future of MMOG development: http://t-machine.org/index.php/2007/09/03/entity-systems-are-the-future-of-mmog-development-part-1/

What is an entity system framework for game development? http://www.richardlord.net/blog/ecs/what-is-an-entity-framework.html

Understanding Component-Entity-Systems: https://www.gamedev.net/articles/programming/general-and-gameplay-programming/understanding-component-entity-systems-r3013/

Alan Zucconi blogs about shaders and game math for developers on his site: https://www.alanzucconi.com/tutorials/

AI Steering Behaviours: http://www.red3d.com/cwr/boids/

Bartosz Olszewski blogs about game programming here: gamesarchitecture.com

How to write a shader to scale pixel art: https://colececil.io/blog/2017/scaling-pixel-art-without-destroying-it/

Here’s podcast on C++ programming: http://cppcast.com/archives/

Data-Oriented Design and C++

Data Oriented Design Resources: https://github.com/dbartolini/data-oriented-design

Handmade Hero: https://handmadehero.org/ & Handmade Network: https://handmade.network/

Game Development YouTube Channels

There are quite a few YouTube channels that cover game programming tutorials and other game development topics.

Infallible Code by Charles Amat

He also has a podcast here: http://indieretrospect.com/

GameDevJon by Jon Weinberger

Quill18Creates by Martin Glaude

He does a lot of Let’s Play videos, and here he does some Unity programming tutorials.

Brackeyes by Asbjørn Thirslund

More Game Development Books:

Game Programming Patterns (Free version online here: http://gameprogrammingpatterns.com/)

Real-Time Rendering, Third Edition

Game Engine Architecture, Second Edition by Jason Gregory

Real-Time Collision Detection by Christer Ericson

Game Programming Gems 8 by Adam Lake

Programming Game AI by Example

GPU Gems 3 by Hubert Nguyen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *